Catholics believe the words remembered in The Apostles Creed:

“I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord, who was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried; he descended to the dead. On the third day he rose again; he ascended into heaven, he is seated at the right hand of the Father, and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and the life everlasting. Amen.”

This is based on the teaching of the Apostles. It was written in the 4th Century CE, it gives a summary of key catholic beliefs about the following:

  • the oneness of God and the Trinity
  • the incarnation of Jesus Christ as the Son of God
  • the meaning of the crucifixion, resurrection and ascension of Jesus
  • the person and work of the Holy Spirit
  • the Church as the Body of Christ
  • the Communion of Saints
  • sin and the means of salvation
  • judgement and the world to come

During their time at Sacred Heart pupils will have the opportunity to participate in liturgies centred around these key beliefs. They will also have the opportunity to be part of the celebration of mass which is the key liturgical action in the Catholic church. Here we are following Jesus’ command to “do this in remembrance of me” after taking and blessing the bread and wine at the last supper. The celebration of mass is central to the Catholic faith.

Derived from the Greek word meaning ‘thanksgiving’, the focus is on the sacrifice of Christ on the cross and the re-enactment of the Last Supper of Jesus. The highpoint of the Eucharist is the receiving of the body and blood of Christ in Holy Communion.

This is a form of worship which commemorates and celebrates a particularly important event or time of the year in the calendar of the church.

This is the common name for the celebration of the Last Supper of Jesus or Eucharist. The word comes from the Latin word missa which means to be sent (a mission). Those who attend mass are given the ‘Mission’ to take the Word of God to all people and Christ, who they have received in Holy Communion, to all people.

This is commonly known as ‘confession’ in the Catholic Church. The penitent confesses their sins, makes a firm commitment to change their life and through the priest, receives the grace and forgiveness of God.